MENU 

Auto Insurance


Driving without Liability Insurance, NJSA 39:6B-2

It is mandatory in the state of New Jersey to carry auto insurance on your vehicle.  Auto insurance premiums can cost a lot of money, and in today’s troubling economic times, it’s not unusual for a person to discover they need to choose whether to pay their auto insurance or another important bill.  Many times, auto insurance falls to the wayside, and just one missed payment can cause your auto insurance to be cancelled.

It is necessary for drivers to realize the importance of complying with the guidelines of New Jersey insurance laws. If you are unconvinced that you need to do something just because the law requires it, think about the true financial costs of breaking the law – the first time you plead guilty or are convicted of driving without insurance, you will face:

  • Impound of your vehicle at the time of the traffic stop;
  • A fine of at least $300 and up to $1000;
  • Community service;
  • DMV surcharges of $250/year for 3 years;
  • and the loss of license for up to one year.

A second offense comes with:

  • Impound of your vehicle at the time of the traffic stop;
  • A fine up to $5000;
  • A mandatory jail sentence of 14 days;
  • 30 days community service;
  • DMV surcharges;
  • and a license suspension for 2 years or more.

There are court costs and fees that are required to be paid on top of the penalties listed above.  The costs of paying tickets, regaining your license, and getting your car out of impound will definitely amount to far more than paying a year’s insurance premium.  Not to mention, the time lost at work because of not having a car could create even more financial woes and familial inconveniences.

These fines, fees, penalties and charges should be enough to convince you that insuring your vehicle should be considered a top priority; however, we have yet to even cover the costs you could face if you are uninsured and you plead guilty to or are convicted of causing an accident.  If it’s just a fender bender, you are now responsible for the cost of repairs to all vehicles involved in the collision.  If it is a more serious accident, and another party sustains injuries, YOU will become responsible for any medical bills incurred, and you may be sued by the injured party, his insurance company, or both.  It is important that you attempt to obtain a Civil Reservation during your court proceedings.

Many individuals have found that there are affordable options to consider for Auto insurance. The Automobile Insurance Cost Reduction Act mandated that a Basic Policy should be available to all drivers. The Basic Policy should be considered to individuals who are just beginning work or have few real assets. You can purchase a Basic Policy at any New Jersey licensed insurance producer.

The table below (found at www.state.nj.us) gives you an overview of the differences between a standard policy and a basic policy:

 

Type of Coverage Standard Policy Basic Policy
Bodily Injury Liability  
Coverage for claims and lawsuits by people injured as a result of an auto accident you cause
As low as: $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident 

As high as: $250,000 per person, $500,000 per accident

Coverage is not included but $10,000 coverage for all persons, per accident, is available as an option
Property Damage Liability  
Coverage for claims and lawsuits by people whose property is damaged as a result of an auto accident you cause
As low as: $5,000 per accident

As high as: $100,000 or more

$5,000 per accident
Personal Injury Protection   
Coverage for injuries sustained in an automobile accident by you or other persons covered under your policy
As low as: $15,000 per person or accident

As high as: $250,000 or more

Up to $250,000 for certain injuries* regardless of of selected limit

$15,000 per person, per accident

Up to $250,000 for certain injuries*

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Coverage pays for property damage or bodily injury if you are in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist (a driver who does not have the minimum level of insurance required by law) or a driver who is insured, but who has less coverage than your underinsured motorist coverage
Coverage is available up to amounts selected for liability coverage None
Collision
Coverage for damage to your vehicle as the result of a collision with another car or other object
Available as an option Available as an option (from some insurers)
Comprehensive
Coverage for damage to your vehicle that is not a result of a collision, such as theft of your car, vandalism, flooding, fire or a broken windshield. Comprehensive coverage also pays if you collide with an animal.
Available as an option Available as an option (from some insurers)
*permanent or significant brain injury, spinal cord injury or disfigurement or for medically necessary treatment of other permanent or significant injuries rendered at a trauma center or acute care hospital immediately following an accident and until the patient is stable, no longer requires critical care and can be transferred to another facility in the judgment of the physician.

 

If you have gotten a ticket for Driving without Liability Insurance, NJSA 39:6B-2, please contact us at (908) 210-9755, by email to Jabatelaw@gmail.com, or by completing the form under the “Contact Us” tab on this site.  James A. Abate handles cases of this nature every week, and wants to help you navigate through this uncharted territory.  We serve Hunterdon, Somerset, Union, Morris, Essex and Middlesex Counties, and will provide you with the expert legal counsel and advice you need.

Get your questions answered – call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (908) 210-9755