Menu

DWI Offenses


An individual arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) in New Jersey should immediately seek qualified legal representation. They can do New Jersey DWI Defense

An individual arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) in New Jersey should immediately seek qualified legal representation. They can do so by consulting a New Jersey DWI Attorney.

Without hearing from a defense attorney, Municipal Court Judges often view the evidence against the accused, which typically includes a police report, video evidence, and blood or breath test results, to be strong enough for a conviction. Getting help from an experienced DWI Attorney is advised in any case involving a charge of violating N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.

Attorney James Abate of The Law Offices of James A. Abate, LLC conducts a thorough investigation into the unique circumstances of each client’s case. He has been practicing as a New Jersey DWI/DUI Attorney for nearly two decades. Mr. Abate’s extensive preparation and strong litigation skills form a strong defense, with the end goal of having DWI charges reduced or dropped. If you are planning to get in touch with a DWI Lawyer for your matter, call The Law Offices of James A. Abate, LLC at (908) 210-9755 for a Free Consultation.

First offense penalties

The Motor Vehicle Commission DWI webpage lists the following penalties for a first time DWI conviction in New Jersey:

Alcohol or drug-related DWI with BAC greater than .08 but less than 0.10 percent
License loss Fines, fees and surcharges Prison term Community service, IDRC and interlock
3 months $250–$400 fine
$230 IDRC fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF
$1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
Up to 30 days 12–48 hours IDRC
Alcohol or drug-related DWI with BAC of 0.10 percent or greater
License loss Fines, fees and surcharges Prison term Community service, IDRC and interlock
7 months–
1 year
$300–$500 fine
$230 IDRC fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF
$1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
Up to 30 days 12–48 hours IDRC
BAC 0.15% or greater: ignition interlock device during license suspension and 6 months – 1 year following restoration

Individuals caught driving with an open container, driving on a suspended license, driving with drugs in the car, or refusing to take a breath test face additional fines and will have additional time added to their license suspension, hindering their ability to return to a normal life. They must get in touch with a DWI Attorney right away to have the charges reduced or dismissed.

Our Services

The attorneys at The Law Offices of James A. Abate, LLC have handled countless DWI cases during their careers. Our clients rely on Mr. Abate’s and his team’s experience and legal savvy for assistance in defending their rights. We strive to explain all available options in laymen’s terms, and aggressively attacks weak points in the prosecution’s case to improve the chances for an acquittal or a reduction of penalties. Contact our office at (908) 210-9755 if you want to get in touch with a New Jersey DWI Attorney.

Contact The Law Offices of James A. Abate, LLC for a no-obligation consultation!

Call on The Law Offices of James A. Abate, LLC for assistance if you have been arrested for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in New Jersey. With offices in Somerville, Cranford, Flemington, and Piscataway, The Law Offices of James A. Abate, LLC is well-positioned to represent individuals, families, and businesses from Somerset, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Morris, Union, Warren, Monmouth, Mercer and Essex counties. Reach out to our office online or at (908) 210-9755 to schedule a free initial consultation with a qualified, knowledgeable representative!

The Law Offices of James A. Abate LLC

Get your questions answered – call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (908) 210-9755